Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (“CPTPP”) is a free trade agreement (FTA) between 11 countries: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. The CPTPP will provide opportunities for companies in the region to have greater and easier access to a market of 500 million people for both goods and services. 

Following the official ratification by 6 parties – Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore - the Agreement will enter into force on 30 December 2018.  This means that Singapore businesses will have new business opportunities in Canada and Mexico which are new FTA partners for Singapore, and will enjoy improved market access for processed agriculture exports to Japan.

This session aims to provide Singapore companies, particularly those in the food processing sector, with a better understanding on the benefits of the CPTPP and a more detailed information on the Tariff Rate Quota (TRQ) system in Canada, Mexico and Japan, as well as gain practical insights on market access opportunities in CPTPP countries. 

For any queries regarding this seminar, please feel free to contact their FTAs and International Relations Team: 
(i) Ms Maes Alconcel, Deputy Director 
[DID: 6827 0258 / Email:]
(ii) Ms Laura Kuan, Senior Executive 
[DID: 6827 6816 / Email: ]